The conference is concerned with scientific and technological innovations relating to the efficient and economic use of heat, derived from all its sources, for the production of cooling, heating and mechanical power either independently or co-generatively.

Subject areas of particular interest include:

  • Heat and mass transfer phenomena
  • Compact heat exchanger research including foams and micro-channels
  • Nanofluids heat transfer, transport and thermal properties
  • Thermodynamic process optimization and modelling
  • Working fluids and heat transfer fluids
  • Thermoeconomic analysis
  • Intelligent thermal energy systems

Technologies of particular interest include:

  • Thermodynamic cycles (hybrid cycles, Organic Rankine Cycles, Stirling cycle machines)
  • Thermo-acoustic engines and coolers
  • Sorption cycle refrigerators and heat pumps (thermal and chemical)
  • Jet-pump (ejector) machines
  • Temperature amplifiers (heat transformers)
  • Desalination of brackish water and seawater
  • Thermal waste water treatment

Organizing Committee

Conference Chair
Prof. Jesús María Blanco Ilzarbe from the Universidad del País Vasco / E.H.U.

Scientific Chair
Prof. (FH) Dr.-Ing. Markus Preißinger (illwerke vkw Endowed Professor for Energy Efficiency, Energy Research Center, University of Applied Sciences Vorarlberg, Austria)

Review Chair
Dr. Roger Riehl (National Institute for Space Research, Brasil)

Local Organizing Committee
Natalia Alegría (Associate Professor of Fluid Mechanics, Department of Energy Engineering, University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU))
Aitor Erkoreka (Associate Professor of Heat Transfer and Thermodynamics, Department of Energy Engineering, University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU))

Executive Committee

Prof. Dr. Ian W. Eames (University of Nottingham, UK)
Dr. Mike Tierney (University of Bristol, UK)

Scientific Advisory Panel (to be confirmed)

Adriano Milazzo, University of Florence, Italy
Angelo Freni , CNR-ICCOM, Italy
Bob Critoph, University of Warwick, UK
Brian Agnew , University of Newcastle, UK
Christian Schweiger, Munich University of Applied Sciences, Germany
Christos Markides, Imperial College, London
David A. Reay, David Reay & Associates, UK
David Hann, Nottingham University,UK
Francis Meunier, CANAM, Paris, France
Giovanni Restuccia, CNR-ITAE, Italy
Giulio Santori, University of Edinburgh, UK
Guangming Chen, Zhejiang University, China
Hisham Sabir, QNRF, Qatar
Ian Eames, University of Nottingham, UK
Jesús Esarte San Martín, NAITEC, Spain
Joan Carlos Bruno ,Universitat Rovira i Virgili, Spain
Larisa Gordeeva , Boreskov Institute of Catalysis
Markus Preißinger, Vorarlberg University of Applied Sciences, Austria
Michel van der Pal, ECN, Alkmar, Netherlands
Mike Tierney, University of Bristol, UK
Philip Davies, Aston University, UK
Phillipe Blanc-Benon, École Centrale de Lyon , France
Pierre Neveu, University of Perpignan, France
Rayah Al-Dadah, University of Birmingham, UK
Robert Keolian, Penn State University, USA
Roger Ribeiro Riehl , National Institute for Space Research – INPE, Brazil
Ruzhu Wang, SJTU, Shanghai, China
Steven Garrett, Penn State University, USA
Yann Bartosiewicz , University Catholique de Louvain UCL, Belgium
Yukitaka Kato, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
Yuri Aristov, Boreskov Institute of Catalysis
Zacharie Tamainot-Telto , University of Warwick, UK